Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

2012 Bix 7 – 57:07

2 Comments

Race take away: Being out racing feels good again!!

Saturday morning we woke up at 4:30 am and I witnessed a sight I have never seen, Drew beaming awake! He was not only up, but really peppy! We all slept well and were on the road by 5:30 am. We found parking along the riverfront with no problem and got in a .9 mile warm up beforehand.

Apparently I got our registrations messed up and Rob was in a slower corral. We didn’t even think to check at the expo to see if they had a corral correction option, which it turns out they did. Rob was fine with it and said that he wasn’t planning to out fast so being in a slower corral would help with that.

Rob, Drew and I split up to our corrals and prepared for the start. It was a mild 74 degrees. Compared to the record 90-100 degree temps anything in the 70s at 8:00 am feels almost chilly. I met a really nice girl in my corral and we passed the time talking about Garmin watches and our running experiences. This would be her 9th Bix and she was from the area. I explained how hills were not my thing and I was working on getting back into shape so I wasn’t shooting for a time, but more for a strong race with nothing hurting or feeling wrong. I didn’t catch her name, but in the off-chance she reads this, I hope you had a great race and post to say hi! 🙂

I felt comfortable throughout the race. No pains, no stomach issues, and the feeling of enjoying racing came back. I tried to keep my pace conservative so I wouldn’t fizzle out. I knew I shouldn’t try running for a PR because I’m not yet back to that fitness level. I couldn’t have asked for a better race experience!

Rob caught me around mile 4 and said hi as he flew by. He was frustrated at actually how slow the corral he was in really was. Apparently people started the race walking and it made it challenging to even run the first few miles. He had finally broke free and was plugging away at the miles. Next year we will make sure the corral placement is correct. Even with the corral issue Rob PRed with a 51:57! This is an improvement from his time here last year of 53:17.

I came in at 57:07 feeling good! Drew also PRed!

Stats:

57:07

8:10 Pace

F 35-39: 22/791

Overall: 1,617/10,405

2011 – Bix 7 – 54:27

2 thoughts on “2012 Bix 7 – 57:07

  1. I love to read your running/travel stories. Hopefully we can meet up at the Pumpkin Classic in September.

Leave a Reply

