Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

2010 Park to Park – 5 Mile – 34:34

10 Comments

Today was a fourth of July race from one park to another park at the opposite end of town.

This race was important, like the first day of school type of important because…..drumroll….I am now a part of the Often Running Racing Team!! They are a local racing team sponsored by Adidas and based on my improving times I was asked to join! I’m SO excited! As a part of the team I will be expected to run fast, but also contribute to the betterment of the team by creating race reports (that are shared with Adidas), volunteer in the community and help at the Often Running store.

This was also fun because Drew came down to stay the night in order to be up in time to race. Little did he know we would wake him up at 4:30am πŸ˜‰ After some cereal and coffee we were ready to roll.

I wasn’t sure when the joining the team announcement would be made so I dressed in Adidas gear.

Turns out that I received my race team gear as soon as we got there, so I changed into the race uniform for the women, black Often Running sports bra and black and white split seam shorts. πŸ™‚ I was psyched! We had lots of friends at this race and so I got to tell them all the news and catch up on how their running and summers were going.

Rob and me before the race. Thanks Mark for the pictures!

After a two mile warm up it was time to line up and get to racing. My race plan was to hold back the first two miles and then incrementally speed up by 5 seconds per mile for the last three. Unfortunately that plan didn’t hold together. I was able to hold back the first two miles and resisted the urge to follow the people who sped out from the start. When at mile 2.5 people started to fall off and I was going strong. I felt like my effort was pushing, but my speed actually remained the same. It was hot and not a flat course, but still I was surprised to not be going faster. Guess I still have work to do in this department.

Me coming into the finish.

I finished with 34:34 and 2nd Female Overall!! A new PR!!

Rob also PRed!! 32:48 and 4th in his Age Group!!

Stats:

34:34

6:55 Pace

F: 2/246

Overall: 39/576

Me in my post run race team shirt and with my heafty team backpack.

Michelle and me all sweaty. πŸ™‚ Michelle placed 4th in her Age Group and this was her first ever 5 Mile race!

Drew requested an offical “gun show”, lol. πŸ™‚

Me with my award.

Michelle with her award.

Michelle and me.

Rob with his award.

Award winners. πŸ˜‰

Rob and Drew with their “awards”, Drew’s being the free water. πŸ˜‰ This was Drew’s first 5 mile run ever! He kicked butt!

After the race we went for lunch and then went out with Dan and Michelle on their boat.

Michelle and me.

Me and Rob.

Rob and Drew.

It was a great Fourth of July!! πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “2010 Park to Park – 5 Mile – 34:34

  1. Christine, I am so very proud of you for becomming part of the Often Team. I can’t think of anyone more deserving. You are already a role model in your running community and for those online bloggers. Your progress and improvements have been very inspirational. What’s MOST inspirational is your work-horse attitude and dedication to the sport. I am so, so proud of you! Oh yeah, great job on ANOTHER PR! I hope I will be lucky enough to meet you in person some day!

    • Rebecca thank you so much!! That means a lot coming from a fastie and dedicated runner such as yourself!! I appreciate you always being here for me and all of the encouragement along the way. I know we will get to meet someday and I hope it’s sometime soon! πŸ™‚ I need to give you the biggest hug!! πŸ˜€

  2. congrats on ur race and being apart of a racing team! I’m interested to hear what all this entails! u rock cj! and so does rob!

    • Thanks Nic! In a nutshell I’m part of a team of fast runners that provide one another support with their experiences in running and racing. I get race support from the owner at certain events I think he brings his runner’s provisions (food, water, etc), I get Adidas gear and I think there are other perks but I don’t want to speak to them since I’m not certain. In return I run fast/smart, represent the store by showing good sportsmanship to others, volunteer in the community and help out at store events. All things that I love and am excited to do!! πŸ˜€

  3. Congratulations!!!!!!! I told you that you were speedy haha I had SO much fun with all of you this weekend πŸ™‚ It makes the races so much better when you and Rob are there!!!! What an awesome PR for both of you too πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to tag along with you guys for more races, yay!!!!

    • I’m so glad you were there! πŸ™‚ Once again it was so much fun!! πŸ˜€ I’m so happy that you are getting into racing more! Congrats to you on placing in your first 5 Mile race! 5Ks are going to feel like a breeze now! πŸ™‚

  4. PS: you rocked this race πŸ˜‰

  5. Wow!!! Congratulations on the racing team! That is so cool. Great job on the race too. Once again, another PR!!

  6. Pingback: 2012 Park to Park – 5 Mile – 39:23 « FlyRunner

Leave a Reply

