Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

2012 Dog Days – 5K – 22:57

4 Comments

Race takeaway: I can remember how to run a set pace, yay!

Dog Days 5K was on Saturday. This race is notoriously hot because it’s July and the race starts at 6pm. With the how ridiculously hot it has been lately we expected that it would be brutal. Luckily a small thunderstorm came through and the little bit of rain cool temps off to 70 degrees. So much better!

I had run 12 miles easy earlier this day and I had no delusions that I was 5K race ready. Still I need to shock my system and run faster. I didn’t want to run the first mile too fast and gas out to a super slow pace. Instead I made it a goal to run the 5K more like a half marathon pace to wake my legs up and hopefully not die after the first mile or two.

Rob and I did a two mile warm up with our friend Ryan and then it was time to race. The course was different from  previous years because of a bridge repair happening around one side of the lake. Ryan had come out and marked the course a couple of days earlier and got it spot on for the race.

Knowing that we aren’t speedy, Rob and I settled into the start a few rows back. Everyone took off fast and I kept an eye on my watch to not go with them. I was in 6:30 and needed to slow down to be around 7:20 and see how I felt. I’m glad that I did because by the turn around I got to see how unfit I felt. I was able to keep my pace consistent, but I definitely had no gas pedal to kick it up a notch. Hopefully that will come with time and training.

 

I came across at 22:57, one of the slowest 5Ks in a long time, but so happy to be out racing even when I’m not ready for it. Rob was in at 20:58, two minutes slower than his usual, but also happy to get back into it.

I got 2nd in my Age Group and Rob got 3rd in his.

The age group medal.

Front

Back

Ryan was overall winner and I loved the overall award this year, a ceramic “Dog Days” dog bowl. I love unique awards like that.

Stats:

22:57

7:25 Pace

F 35-39: 2/?

2011 Dog Days – 21:56

2010 Dog Days – 19:39 (course short, they said add 10 secs, 19:49)

2009 Dog Days – 24:10

2008 Dog Days – 25:56

2007 Dog Days – 30:32

4 thoughts on “2012 Dog Days – 5K – 22:57

  1. Wow that is so awesome of how long you have been doing it for and great job. I’m glad to see you out racing again, fast and slow-you are still racing! 🙂

    • Thanks Hollie! The time does pass by quickly! It feels like yesterday I was starting into to running at all. It’s awesome that there are always challenges to overcome no matter how many years go by. 😀

  2. Pingback: 2012 Evergreen Lake – 5K – 22:13 « FlyRunner

  3. After I saw the second picture posted here I am much happy to say I ran a race with a great runner. Your blog really awesome . I like it 100%

Leave a Reply

