Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

Pulled Out of a Hat

4 Comments

Workouts:

Monday (5/21):

7.21 Miles Easy (Treadmill, 1:01:50, 8:35 Pace)

Tuesday (5/22):

1.29 Miles Easy (Warm Up for Team Steam, 12:19, 9:33 Pace)

4.14 Miles Intervals (Team Steam – Envelope Track Workout, 29:08, 7:03 Pace)

Tuesday’s Team Steam workout was a new one, it was called an “Envelope Track Workout”. Basically that meant pull various track distances out of a hat and run them until we met or exceeded 4 miles of workout. We also kept our recoveries as short as possible, which was about 30-40 seconds for me. What made this strange was not really knowing what was next. How do I run my 400M pace without knowing if the next go around was 120o, 800, or 400? I made sure to keep my effort above my goal pace for this race, but I didn’t go all out either until we got our last 400M and felt like I could run what has been my pace for them lately (1:31 – 5:58 Pace).

I can’t say this was my favorite workout. I would rather know what I’m in for upfront, even if it’s 12 x 400s, 10 x 800s or whatever.

I did get to wear my Marathon Maniacs jersey. One thing I can’t explain is the design that includes a cat and a guy on the back. So I went out and looked up the history, makes more sense now!

4 thoughts on “Pulled Out of a Hat

  1. I had no clue what the MM logo meant either! I never ended up purchasing a singlet, whenever I visited the online store they were sold out of my size. I love the one you chose, it looks great with your Boston shorts!!

    • Thank Molly! Yeah I was bummed they didn’t have much left in the store at the time I made my order. I went a size up so I could at least get something. It’s big in the arm holes, but I can deal with that.

  2. Wow, that hat-trick workout would drive me batty! Now that you are a Maniac, do you have a fall marathon planned?

Leave a Reply

