Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

Making Adjustments

Leave a comment

Workouts:

Wednesday (10/20):

Rest

Thursday (10/21):

6 Miles Easy (Treadmill, 49:50, 8:19 Pace)

Friday (10/22):

4 Miles Easy (‘Hood, 32:09, 8:03 Pace)

4 Miles Easy (‘Hood, 35:57, 9:00 Pace)

My right hamstring was starting to feel better this week, that is until Friday’s run. It was supposed to be 8 miles easy with pick ups afterwards. The first two miles my hamstring was only slightly tight and felt improved, but two more miles and the range of motion was shortened and more painful. I went home to foam roll and then try again the last four miles at an even easier pace. The pain was still there and my stride is shortened. I’m definitely not in race-mode, I’m forced into a recovery-mode. It’s so frustrating to have my left side feel so free and ready to race and my right side to be barely able to hold an easy run.

Luckily I don’t have bruising so I may not have a severe pull, which takes longer to heal. I am icing often, but will need to make adjustments to my upcoming race plans. This includes determining if I could even run Rock and Roll St. Louis Half Marathon this Sunday at all.

On another note, Coco had a bad reaction to new allergy medicine and is not feeling well. She’s been very sick and back to the vets office. We were able to get her on the mend and keep our plans to travel to St. Louis. Rob would get to race and my race would be a last-minute assessment by how I felt race morning.

Leave a Reply

