Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

Ready or Not

8 Comments

Workouts:

Wednesday (3/2):

4 Miles Tempo (RTW, Const Trail, 42:20, 10:35 Pace)

6 Miles Easy (Treadmill, 1% Incline, 48:18, 8:03 Pace)

Thursday (3/3):

6 Miles Easy (Treadmill, 1% Incline, 47:58, 8:00 Pace), Situps

Friday (3/4):

 4 Miles Easy (‘Hood, 32:58, 8:15 Pace)

45 Mins Yoga

5.51 Miles Easy (Treadmill, 1% Incline, 45:00, 8:11 Pace)

Saturday (3/5):

1.22 Miles Warm Up (Miller Park, 11:59, 9:50 Pace)

3.1 Miles Race (Miller Park, 21:30, 6:56 Pace, 2nd Female Overall, 1st Age Group)

Sunday (3/6):

11.75 Miles Easy (Treadmill, 0-1% Incline, 1:40:03, 8:31 Pace)

7.25 Miles Easy (‘Hood, 1:00:49, 8:24 Pace)

This week busy has gone to a new level. Now I have to learn how to not only balance work and training, but the racing season has begun whether I’m ready for it or not. This week was a lot of training when I could fit it in and I am looking forward to getting next week back on track.

Since my last post I had another training run with my Ride the Wave group. We ran 4 miles as a tempo run and the group is doing great. They have been handling the training really well and I’m looking forward to getting them some hill and speedwork. After our run I got in another run at home on the treadmill.

Thursday was a late night run a la treadmill. Friday morning I got outside for 4 mile before yoga class. Later that afternoon we had some heavy rains so I got my second run on the treadmill, but it was interrupted with a special delivery…more on that in a sec. I did step out into the rain to get in some pick ups, 6 X 100s. I got to feel how stale my legs are regarding speed. I need them to wake up and get ready for short racing. I knew that Saturdays 5K would be rough.

Friday night we had dinner with friends and talked all things running. Drew stayed over so he could race this 5K with us. Saturday morning we were up and ready to race. The weather was not great, windy (22 mph), 30ish degrees – mid-20s with wind chill, and light snow. The cold wind is so annoying. I got in a quick warm up, talked to some of our friends and it was time to get going. We took off and I felt good in the lungs and hoped that after the first mile my legs would wake up more. I was lead female for most of the race. It was nice to hear “First female!” and “Go Christine!”. While my legs felt dead on speed, I felt like I could have run forever. The course was wrong before mile 2. A volunteer got the course messed up and there was some yelling as to which way. We all slowed to almost a stop to figure out which road to take. After mile 2 a girl came up and passed me. I couldn’t stay with her and she finished a good 30 seconds in front of me. All I could do was smile at the finish and enjoy that the race was done. I’m not thrilled with my time or how dead my legs felt. Rob was 5th Overall and 1st in his Age Group!

Stats:

21:30

6:56 Pace

Overall: 24/277

F: 2/?

F 30-34: 1/26

That afternoon we spent it working on that special delivery I mentioned earlier, our new treadmill!! It’s the Nordic Track Elite 9500 Pro. This treadmill will allow us to run any course in the world! Hello Boston! Unfortunately to set up the iFit Live we have to call their support and they aren’t open until Monday, so we will get that working pronto.

The treadmill was a bear to get up the stairs. Luckily we have awesome fit friends that happen to be our neighbors to help us out. Rob and Drew worked on assembly and had it all up and working in time for our next activity.

Later that afternoon we watched Drew’s niece compete and win state in the IDTA competition. After dinner out I was too tired to even enjoy my new treadmill so I enjoyed that on Sunday’s run. The treadmill felt substantial and it doesn’t need to restart when it hits a 100 minutes, so that’s a nice change. Sunday I also got in some miles outside. I’m happy to have gotten outside four times this week, the weather is finally getting nice again!

8 thoughts on “Ready or Not

  1. Do you think if I register for that treadmill for the wedding someone will buy it for us???? Lol

  2. I know jealously is ugly, but I am so very jealous of your new treadmill!

    Great job on your 5K! I know its not close to a PR, but you have been kicking major butt with your intense training!! Your speed will come back. That 5K was just a warm up for your racing season. 🙂

    • Thanks Steph, I hope you are right and the speed comes back. This treadmill is pretty nuts. I just got the Boston course plugged into it and will probably have to post a bit more about it’s awesomeness since it’s overwhelmingly cool. I love having so much technology in my treadmill! 🙂

  3. That should be jealousy! Sorry

  4. I was just wandering around your blog and saw that you updated your “about” tab with pics from your first race. What an amazing transformation! Can I ask….did you formally train with a coach or did you just push yourself to get stronger and faster over the years?

    • Thanks Dana! Over the years it was just me researching and training myself. Last summer our friend Ryan coached us through speed work on the track. I tried coaching with McMillan in the fall, but didn’t find it to be the right fit so I went back to doing the training plans that have worked for me so far.

Leave a Reply

