Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

Snow Recovery

19 Comments

Workouts:

Sunday (2/6):

22 Miles Long (Treadmill, 1% Incline, 3:00:43, 8:14 Pace)

Today was my longest training run yet! I also ended up with a new weekly mileage high of 82 Miles! My legs are feeling pretty good, but it’s always good to do a preventative ice bath to help speed up recovery. Only this time I decided to experiment by taking advantage of the snow drifts that are around.

I have to say it wasn’t too bad feeling. Not like the shards of knifing pain of stepping into a pre-made ice bath.

For this outside adventure I did have on dry clothes and socks. After some picture-taking I didn’t stay out because I could have used an extra layer on my butt, it froze almost as soon as I sat down. Next time we have a big snow I may try this again instead of having us go out for big bags of ice. Next time I will wear some shorts underneath.

19 thoughts on “Snow Recovery

  1. LOL. What a great idea! I keep saying I need to start taking ice baths, but never actually do. Maybe this way I will get it done!

  2. bahaha What a great idea. You are hilarious and congrats on your 82 miles.

  3. you are such a little cutie! 🙂 great job!

  4. This is so funny, I totally do this too! I think my neighbors think I’m nuts! Sometimes I take bags outside and fill them up with snow too, when I don’t need an entire ice bath. The snow just forms around your joints, so much better than bags of ice cubes! Great minds think alike! 🙂

  5. That looks like so much more fun than an actual ice bath! I’m such a weenie, I couldn’t even keep one foot in a bowl of icy water, let alone submerging my whole lower half.

    • Oh yeah it doesn’t feel good. I usually shout while getting in. Some tips to ease the pain: wear a hat and sweatshirt hiked up and drink hot tea. The pain is temporary and the benefits are awesome!

  6. Genius!! I love this idea. And I think you’ll be able to use this trick for the next few runs! That snow isn’t going anywhere any time soon!

    • Unfortunately it’s not leaving fast enough. I’m SO ready for winter to be over. If you ever want to go for a run and sit in a snow drift let me know. 🙂

  7. I love this idea!! just get yourself one of those cushioned seats used by hunters.

  8. awesome run! please send that picture to runners world. it is amazing!

  9. Haha I was thinking about this the other day but since I have so many neighbors I didn’t figure they’d appreciate me sitting out in the snow 🙂 Plus I’m sure its WAY colder than the ice bath! I still scream every time I get in though… at least in the summer its probably a little more tolerable! Congrats on the mileage girl 🙂

    • Hehehe I bet the neighbors would wonder what the heck you were doing if you did! Summer does make ice baths a little less awful.

  10. Pingback: The Illinois Ice Bath

Leave a Reply

