Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

Vegas Baby Vegas!!!

11 Comments

This is a late post to capture the events of last weekend. As soon as we got back from Las Vegas I’ve been knee-deep in work with not enough time to sit down and catch up on my blog posting or reading.

Last Friday we arrived in Las Vegas and hooked up with Drew. It was amazing weather, 60 degrees! We were walking around with no coats while IL was getting snow.

 We spent all of Friday checking out Vegas and enjoying the sites like the Worlds Largest Chocolate Fountain!

After a sugar loaded breakfast we took some pictures and then made our way to the Las Vegas Marathon Expo.

Drew has his bib number! He’s about to join the ranks of Half Marathoners!

We had the most fun at the expo. Brooks is the company affiliated to Rock and Roll series and at the expos they have this amusement park theme type area where people can try little games and win prizes. Drew and I play the racing game that is similar to an amusement park game with the toy horses where you push buttons to race them, except the Brooks game is runners on a track. Drew ends up winning and got a medal. I tell him “Now you can say you beat me in a race”. We decide to take his picture with his medal to show of his win. We tell him to stand in front of this Human Jesus Lizard display because it makes a funny background for a picture. Up on stage is a platform that looks like fake plastic water. We assume that it’s for something funny that they will be brining out later.

Rob encourages Drew to get up on the stage and stand on the fake water for this photo op and Drew plays along. I’m about to take the picture and as I do Rob notices something….and says to Drew “Are you sinking??”

Yep he’s sinking!!!

So the surface wasn’t hard after all, but at this point we think it’s just like a gel, kind of like a water bed or something until Drew lifts up his foot and is covered in the light blue goo. The people around the area gasp and we totally shocked and don’t know what to do. By the way, Drew had on a new pair of running shoes. The goo is so thick that it was hard for Drew to step out of so Rob helped steady Drew while the Brooks people got towels. They weren’t too pleased with us. We weren’t going to be surprised if we were asked to leave. 🙂

Turns out the mixture was corn starch and wouldn’t hurt Drew’s shoes, but they were tainted a nice light blue. 🙂

After our little shoe adventure we made our way through the expo booths and then got to taking pictures of our team shirts, Team Throwdown!! Drew had us official shirts made so we had to get pictures. But if we are a team then we need cheerleaders!

 

Our shirt sayings:

Rob – “My sport is your sport’s punishment”

Drew – “Walking is not an option”

CJ – “You’ve just been chick’d”

Love it!! 😀 Thanks Drew!!

Then it was on to more sightseeing and some gambling.

That night we had dinner at Koi and then we saw Holly Madison in Peep Show. We had VIP seats right by the stage and I got Drew up on stage with Holly, it was awesome and an amazing show!

Post show Rob and I split a coleslaw and bbq hot dog from Pinks. We’ve never had that on a hot dog before so I figured it was worth a shot. The hot dog was very good, but the toppings were just okay, can’t say I would order that one again.

Saturday was a lot more sightseeing with a few Hangover moments.

It’s where I keep all my things. Get a lot of compliments on this. Plus it’s not a purse, it’s called a satchel. Indiana Jones wears one.

Do you know if the hotel is pager friendly? I’m not getting a sig’ on my beeper.

Can I ask you another question? You probably get this a lot. This isn’t the real Caesar’s Palace is it?

We sinned in Sin City at Serendipity 3.

And while the whole weekend was a lot of fun, I had some serious lessons learned at this race, but that I will save for my next post that will include a race report.

11 thoughts on “Vegas Baby Vegas!!!

  1. You look so beautiful. I’m glad you are having a ton of fun.

    I can’t wait to see your race recap. I hope your work calms down a bit. 🙂 🙂

    • Thanks Hollie! You are too sweet! 😀 This coming week is a big one so I’ll be happy to get back to a regular workload for awhile after that. I’m working on my report now. It was an awful race for me, but I learned so much. I know my experience will help me in future races and I hope writing about it helps others.

  2. CJ, Vegas looks soooo fun!!! Seems you guys had a blast!!!! I’m laughing at allll the hangover lines and photos along with it!!!! I miss you! We need to run a race in the same town so we can go crazy!!!!!

    • You would have loved the weekend! We definitely need to get together and cause some trouble at an expo sometime. 🙂

      Did you sign up for that full in Michigan? If so, what is the name again and when is it?

  3. Love that gray shirt! Where did you get it??

    • Custom made from our buddy Drew! 🙂 I think he went to a local sports store or t-shirt store and ordered technical shirts with custom printing. It definitely added to the fun of the weekend! 🙂

  4. Ok, that whole “sinking on stage” story is hilarious!! My jaw dropped and you had me laughing out loud.
    Looking forward to your race report!!

  5. Pingback: 2010 Rock and Roll Las Vegas – Half Marathon – 1:40:34 « FlyRunner

  6. Pingback: Often Running | FlyRunner

  7. Pingback: Exponential | FlyRunner

Leave a Reply

