Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

It’s Officially That Time Again

12 Comments

I’m VERY excited to officially be starting my training for the Boston Marathon. This plan will be a lot different, here are some highlights.

  • I will be training with a Jack Daniels’ (hehehe, love his name) approach. This means I will have 2 Quality workouts in my training each week. These Q Runs will be VERY hard as the plan goes on, the rest of my running will be easy, recovery pace.
  • I will need to be more flexible with my training. Daniels’ plans are pretty serious, I have to be very honest with my abilities and any hints of injuries. If any of the Q training doesn’t come together the way I need, I may have to shorten the expectation or default in some Pfitz. I understand that transitioning from Pfitz to Daniels isn’t a light switch and I may have to do some blending.
  • I do plan to add in hills more often than I ever have. Hills are hard to come by in my area, so this means taking some conscience effort to drive to some good hills to get them into workouts.
  • Cross training will include, but is not limited to: Weights, Yoga, Jump Rope, Cycling
  • Weekly weight recordings, just for my personal reference.

I do plan to post more with this being my first Boston Marathon and also I hope to capture how this new training plan works (or doesn’t work) for me.

I’m interested in hearing your insights along the way. Also, if you are doing Boston in 2011 or have trained with Daniels’ please share your experiences.

So to kick it off, here is today’s workout. The fist 6 weeks will be base building, which means running easy miles. Today was 7.4 Miles Easy in the neighboorhood and 8 Miles Easy on the exercise bike.

12 thoughts on “It’s Officially That Time Again

  1. On from one training cycle to the next! The joys of being a marathoner! I’m excited to follow you on your journey! Especially for this amazing marathon! I’m interested to hear about Daniels’ plan.. I’m going to commit to pfitz for Kzoo… maybe he is what I need to get me my PR ❤

    • I’m so happy you are here to share my journey of training for Boston! 🙂 I absolutely have loved using Pfitz. I want to see how things go with Daniels, but Pfitz has definitely been my favorite program so far.

  2. Sounds intense!! I’m looking forward to hearing about the journey there! 🙂

  3. I know a lot of people who have used JD for marathons and it got them fast! Good luck! For Boston, make sure you train running down hill too. A lot of people don’t and their quads end up shot by mile 13.

  4. I am so excited to follow your road to Boston!

  5. boston training already?!?! geez, i need to kick it in gear!

    • I normally don’t get to training this early. This really was an 18 week plan with a suggested 6 week base build. The base build is nothing out of the ordinary, but I plan to follow it just so I make sure I’m as ready as possible for the next phase.

  6. I’ve never tried JD training, but agree on getting the downhills in espeically early in your runs…..so kind of like Boston you legs are getting some pounding early on with downhills and then you have to just keep on trucking. I think preparing for that downhill can help you not slow down as much once you hit the uphill around mile 18.

Leave a Reply

