Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

Little Wins

7 Comments

Each day I’ve been seeing improvement in my knee and mobility, yet each day I get more and more stir crazy and feel a bit out of sorts. There are moments where I feel defeated by the situation. My mind and body feel ready to go for a run, but my scab and range of motion won’t allow for it yet. It’s a frustrating feeling.

I’m trying to work around my injury and tried to walk on the treadmill. It was annoying to walk slowly and after 2 Miles my knee felt full and sore, so I stopped and did strength training. I was walking on an incline so next time I’ll try with little to no incline and see if that helps. I’m missing having a heart pumping workout feeling so I tried jumping rope and it appears I can do that! I jumped rope for 11 minutes and stopped before anything began hurting. I can always add more minutes and sessions. I can’t wait to try again tomorrow!

I’m very thankful that for my health and that things are getting better. I know that it could have been A LOT worse. So in order to keep my spirits up and focused on the good I’m going to post my little wins:

  • I can almost walk around without hobbling. Now I just look like I have a very bad ’70s pimp swagger. 😉
  • I can almost bend my knee to 90 degrees! Crossing my legs and getting in and out of the car is still tricky, but maybe those can be on my little wins list next week.
  • I’m getting more upper body work done!
  • I walked on the treadmill for 2.1 miles today!
  • I jumped rope for 11 Mins!! It felt SO amazing to have my heart rate up!!

Here is the workout I got done today:

Walk 2.1 Miles (Treadmill, 3-4% Incline, 33:09)

2 Sets, 20 Reps, Hammer Curls, Free Weights (FW), 8lbs Each Arm (EA)

2 Sets, 20 Reps, Bicep Curls, FW, 8lbs EA

2 Sets, 15 Reps, Triceps Extension, FW, 8lbs EA

2 Sets, 20 Reps, Upright Rows, FW, 16lbs

2 Sets, 15 Reps, Front Delt, FW, 8lbs EA

2 Sets, 15 Reps, Shoulder Raises, FW, 8lbs EA

1 Sets, 30 Reps, Sit Ups, BOSU

2 Sets, 20 Reps, Shoulder Press, 16lbs

1 Set, 20 Reps, Bent Over Row, 8lbs EA

Jump Rope (11:20)

Tomorrow I hope to do more than one jump rope session, walk more (maybe with less incline and see if my knee holds up better), and try doing planks.

7 thoughts on “Little Wins

  1. great job finding new ways to get your heart rate up! hang in there sister, youll be back to your normal speedy self SOON! ❤

  2. Hang in there, babe. You will be as good as new before you know it! Jumproping is an awesome workout, btw!

  3. Thanks ladies! I’m trying to keep my head up. I have my moments of frustration, I guess that’s to be expected.

  4. Stay strong. It sounds like you will be back to running pretty soon.

  5. Flyrunner,
    You will continue to get better, I know it is super rough not being about to get out and enjoy the activity that we love so much. I had to take an entire year off of running due to IT Band issues. It was so bad, I almost opted for surgery, but chose to just take the time off and go through extensive physical therapy. I could do every cardio activity except for running. UGH! Horrible! But, I was able to resume running in October 2009, and after a few weeks of walk/jog, I was able to run actual miles. I decided to do a half marathon on a whim in the beginning of November, without going longer than 11 miles prior to the race, and was able to pull off a 1:45…after only running for a few weeks! I just ran the Cleveland Marathon today, and hit a PR 3:37:05 and will be heading to Boston in 2011! So hang in there. We runners are tough cookies, and the human body can bounce back from injury, and can certainly surprise you! I bet a few weeks off won’t really effect your fitness level much. Just take this as a sign that maybe your body just needed a little vacation, and I have faith that you will be back on the roads in no time!

    Cheers to a speedy recovery! 🙂
    Molly

Leave a Reply

