Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

CIDA – 5K – 25:42

Leave a comment

A new PR!!!

The weather was not the best, but at least there was no rain. It was about 33 degrees and 18mph winds, making it with the windchill about 25 degrees. This race is an out and back loop and has one large gradual hill about .75 miles in.

I felt great this race! The cold winds weren’t the best on my lungs, but otherwise I was feeling amazing. My race plan was to just make sure I stayed on top of my pace and didn’t let it slow at any point, which seemed to work because I had negative mile splits.

Rob had a great race too and PRed with 25:53!

Afterward we waited around with Mike, Jayme and William in the freezing cold to see if we had won any awards or door prizes.

I got 2nd in my Age Group!!

My splits:
Mile 1: 8:20
Mile 2: 8:11
Mile 3: 8:00
.1 Mile: 1:11

Race Time: 25:42
Avg Split: 8:16

My stats:
F 30-34: 2/15
Overall: 73/224

Afterward Rob and I met up with Drew and Carrie and we checked out the local running store. It was a very nice store and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I ended up with a new CW-X sports bra, CW-X compression socks, and Nike running socks. Then we headed out to a cafe for some breakfast (aka lunch), coffee and a mimosa.

We forgot our camera so Rob got this picture of me with my medal when we got home. 🙂

Tomorrow is my 11 mile long run and I’m so excited for it. The bad news is a winter storm is coming in tonight so I’ll have to wait and see if I need to make this one indoors. I was so looking forward to a nice spring day run, but apparently winter is not through with us yet.

Now it’s time to go put on my compression socks and start working on my full marathon plans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

