Chase:Every:Second

enjoying every second of life and running

Half Training: Week 4 of 16 Complete

Leave a comment

Cue the Rocky theme music….today’s run was so much fun, but more on that later.

This was a recovery week so my mileage was lower so I spent more time cross training (got in 33 miles on my exercise bike on a higher level and worked on weights). Temperatures have been below zero most days causing me to run more on the treadmill than I normally would like. I combat this by doing my treadmill runs at a faster pace than scheduled. I always run with a either .5% or 1% incline. Because this was a recovery week I did rolling hills by adjusting the incline on the treadmill for one of my runs.

So today’s run….The sun is shining and the temps this morning were 11 degrees, with the wind chill (11 mph winds) it was 4-6 degrees. So I donned my ninja mask, winter socks, under armour lined tights, under armour long sleeved shirt, nike light long sleeved top, fleece and yak trax. I’ll write a tiny product review of the Yak Trax and ninja mask in a little bit. The run was good! It was an easy run day so I did it at a “don’t fall on my ass” pace because the roads varied in amounts of ice and snow. It was so nice to be out in the brisk air, but feeling warm. It felt like a Rocky moment, take that Apollo Creed!

Here is what the week looked like:
M: Bike 45 Mins, Legs and Abs
T: Bike 15 Mins (warm up), 4 Miles Easy Run (rolling hills)
W: Rest
R: Rest
F: Bike 13 Mins (warm up), 4 Miles Easy Run
Sa: Bike 45 Mins, Bowflex Shoulders, Back and Arms
Su: 4 Miles Easy Run

Total Running Miles: 12

Now it’s time to start building mileage again. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

